Inside the 2014 Oskar Barnack Award Jury

As usual, it was a tough decision for our jury members to make, but we have our Oskar Barnack Award and Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award winners! Although, we can’t reveal them just yet. You’ll have to wait until May to learn who they are and see their winning images.

However, we can show you a behind-the-scenes look into the deliberation process. Watch this video to see how the jury deliberates and chooses the winners.

This year’s jury members included: Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, Art Director, General Manager of the International Leica Galleries, Austria, Ingo Taubhorn, Chief-Curator House of Photography / Deichtorhallen Hamburg, Germany, Xavier Canonne, Director Musée de la Photographie, Charleroi, Belgium, Evgenia Arbugaeva, Photographer, Russia, and Brigitte Schaller, Art Direction, LFI Magazine, Germany.

For the first time in addition to the juried awards, there will also be a presentation of a public award that will be selected by free online voting on

The awards will be presented during the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie photographic festival held in Arles, France in July 2014.

-Leica Internet Team

 For more information about the Leica Oskar Barnack Award, click here.

(Visited 175 times, 1 visits today)

One comment

  • You know, if the judging sessions are filmed, it would be an amazing resource to see and hear the judging discussion. World Press Photo allowed live streaming of the POTY judging, although it wasn’t available online other than at the time of the event sadly.

    What fantastic educational resource though! Something to consider, Leica?

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *